If you want to make me a sandwich…I want to eat your sandwich


I think girls have an incredibly difficult job when it comes to dating. We are supposed to sit by demure and pretty, flirting just enough to instill some confidence that we will say yes and not too much as to be considered forward.

We are to smile, laugh at their jokes, touch them playfully and generally send an over all message that we are interested…assuming of course that we are. Then if they get the message, and if they are interested in us…they might ask for our phone number. Or they might not.

If they do ask for our phone number they might actually call us…or they might not.

When you think about it, it really is no wonder that girls get the reputation for over analyzing things. “Was that text sent with a smiley face or an exclamation point.” It could make all the difference.

We are constantly left wondering,

I have a dear friend who went on a boating trip. She really only knew one person there so when she met this incredibly attractive man and starting flirting with him she really hoped he would ask for her number. The day was going great, the sun was warm on their skin, the water was cool and refreshing. She was flirting with him…he was flirting with her and boasting about how he made the best sandwich ever.

“I’m not sure i’m convinced” she said with a coy smile

“Well than I might just have to take that as a challenge” he answered back. She was quite sure he would suggest they get together so he could prove his culinary prowess to her but just at that moment a rope caught in the propeller and he went diving to see if he could undo the damage. During his struggle with the rope he cut his hand and his friend took him to the hospital to get stitches.

He never got her phone number and since they didnt know any of the same people she figured she would never see him again.

The following week she was at church and as she was standing in the hallway who should she see but mister sandwich boy.

Excited to see him again, and thinking that perhaps fate had given her another chance…but also in a terrible hurry since she was supposed to be teaching the lesson in just a few seconds, she rushed up to him and stammered…

“If you want to make me a sandwich, I want to eat your sandwich.”

The words were no sooner out of her mouth than the reality of what she had just said hit her and in the awkwardness she mumbled a few words about how she had to go and went to teach her class.

“I want to eat your sandwich..” A common phrase in our house now whenever we want to tease her about her aggressive flirting. In reality we all sympathize. Its hard being a girl. Its hard waiting. Its hard putting yourself out there and waiting to see if some guy is going to pick up on it. Its hard being left to wonder what he is thinking and why.

I went to a dance this weekend. There was a slow song and they announced that it was ladies choice. I wasn’t about to ask a guy, I hate ladies choice. But then as I was looking around for my friends this guy walked toward me. He was buff, he was good looking, and he was almost past me. Before I even knew what I was doing I asked him to dance. We danced and then we talked. And after awhile when another slow song came on we danced again. It was nice. He was interesting. turns out we have some mutual friends.

I wouldn’t mind seeing him again. I wouldn’t mind going out on a date with him. If he wanted to make me a sandwich… I would eat his sandwich. But I have done my share of waiting and wondering what a guy is thinking and if he is going to do something about it. So I will not think about it. And while I am busily not thinking about it I will enjoy another new day. I will not text our mutual friends to see what they have to say about him…I will not try to manipulate a situation where I know I will see him again. Who knows maybe I will just go to the kitchen and make my own sandwich!

7 thoughts on “If you want to make me a sandwich…I want to eat your sandwich

  1. topiclessbar says:

    At least she didn’t tell him to eat her sandwich. That would’ve been over the line.

  2. Doug says:

    Love the post. It’s not easy for gay men in the same situation. Especially in a small town. Who can I ask out? Do we know the same people? Is he interested, just a flirt, or just a nice guy that has a great smile? Totally know where you are coming from.

    • diddadowrite says:

      Thank you! I’m glad you can relate…I mean Im not glad that its difficult for you too but its always nice to know there are others out there that feel the same.Thanks for stopping by.

  3. Corey says:

    You could just give him your number… If you think you will never see it again, what would it matter?

  4. diddadowrite says:

    Thats true. There are a number of much better options she could have chosen. Its crazy how in the moment you often do crazy things.

  5. […] If you read my post about how dating is difficult for girls,  https://acowintheocean.wordpress.com/2012/03/19/if-you-want-to-make-me-a-sandwich-i-want-to-eat-your-… […]

Leave a Reply

