Sex in Mayberry? Or is it Andy Grifith in the City…


I am all about contradictions. I see them everywhere. Especially in myself. The other day I was channel hopping between Sex and the City and the Andy Griffith show. I managed to watch two episodes of each and began to see a number of similarities. Let’s face it,  there were a number of differences as well. But overall I was surprised to see that two TV shows that at first glance have nothing in common actually have a lot in common. For example, in The Andy Griffith show you have two confirmed bachelors, Andy and Barney. Through the course of the show I don’t think that either of them marry but they have a number of girl friends.

In the episode I was watching Andy met a girl that he liked and his efforts at courting her were constantly thwarted by Barney’s bumbling efforts at helping him.  Andy wants to spend some time alone with this girl so that he can kiss her. It seemed that every way Andy turned there was Barney throwing a wrench in his plans. When Andy tells Barney that they have been going on double dates a lot and he thinks its time they spent some time alone, Barney thinks he wants to spend time alone with him and he calls his girlfriend to tell her that he can’t see her that night since he and Andy are going to have some guy time.

Finally, Andy just up and tells Barney that he wants to be alone with his girl, because he wants to talk to her, you know? He has some things he would like to say to her alone. Barney gives him that all knowing smile and a little friendly jab in the ribs that says he understands and then he proceeds to tell the whole town that Andy is planning to propose. Barney and the town plan a surprise party to celebrate with the couple. When the whole town intrudes on what was supposed to be a quiet relaxing date, Andy decides that he doesn’t even care anymore and he kisses his girl right there in front of half the town.

As I bounced back and forth between Sex and the City and The Andy Griffith Show there were several things that caught my attention.

First, some things apparently have changed over time. For example, the way we talk. Words like swell, dandy, fixin’, and courtin’, and the like just aren’t words that civilized folks use these days.

Also I noticed that Carrie and Samantha dress a little differently than Ellie and Thelma Lou. And lets not get started on names. Really? Thelma Lou, some things have definitely changed for the better!

As for the guys their fashion hasn’t really changed all that much. They wore a few more hats in the Andy Griffith show and I guess overalls are kind of a think of the past…

But when it comes to relationships I was surprised to see a lot of similarities. I watch Andy trying to ease his arm around Ellie’s shoulder, trying to get some time alone with her and I thought some things never change. I turned the channel and saw similar behavior on Sex and the City. Sure, once they made the moves things well… they moved…right into bed. Now there never was a bedroom scene in the Andy Griffith show unless you count Aunt Bea giving Opie a little Pep talk after his fight with the school bully but that hardly applies in this sense.

I saw Ellie and Thelma Lou working to get a commitment from the men, and I turned the channel to see Carrie complaining to Big about not having a key to his apartment.

So maybe I’m stretching the truth a little to say that they have a lot in common, but there were definitively some similarities. And although I know I haven’t seen every episode of either show I can’t for the life of me recall the main characters getting married, well, at least not staying that way.

Leave a Reply

